9 Rules for The Game of Life

I received an e-mail the other day from a friend of mine, who also happens to be Britains Top Female Coach, no less! Anyways, after reading the e-mail I just felt I had to share it with you, so here it is and apologises for not posting it earlier –

Dear Richard,When a delegate in a workshop asks for my phone number, it’s usually a sign that they are enjoying themselves and potentially would like to either share my contact with friends or work colleagues or even want to talk privately about a challenge they may be having, so I am more than happy to give them my card. However the ‘delegate’ is seven years old what do you do?

I am working with a small group of 7 and 8 year olds in a school in York who have had challenges with their self esteem and confidence. We were just coming to the end of our third session and reminded them that next week is our last session.

‘So if you have any questions that you would like us to look at next week write them down and remember to bring them with you.’

‘I have a question now.’ said one of the boys. I smile to give him permission to ask his question. ‘Can I have your phone number please?’

‘For what purpose do you feel you need my phone number?’ I asked.

‘Well,’ he thoughtfully said.’stuff is gonna to happen a lot in life and I think you’d be a helpful person to call.’ Let me just repeat here, he is 7 years old! For once I was speechless! Such profound words from a young man with, I suspect, a very wise old soul!

He’s right, life is full of stuff happening. ‘Good’ stuff that we enjoy and of course the other stuff which we can rail against, get fed-up with, angry and frustrated at. It’s so easy to let that get on top of us rather than realising that life is a game and we need to learn to play it. To know how to play a game though you need to understand the rules and thankfully someone recently sent them through to me, so I thought I would share them with you, I will be sharing them with many more including the above wise souled young man and his friends.

The 9 rules for the game of life.

1.      You will receive a body.

You may hate it or like, but it will be yours for the entire period this time around. Like your house, car, and everything else in life it needs care.

2.     You will learn lessons.

You are enrolled in a full time school of life. Each day in this school you will have the opportunity to learn lessons. You may like the lessons or think them irrelevant or stupid.

3.       There are no mistakes, only lessons.

Growth is a process or trial and error, experimentation. The ‘failed’ experiments are as much part of the process as the experiments that ultimately ‘work’.

4.       A lesson is repeated until it is learned.

A lesson is presented to you in various forms until you have learned it. When you have learned it, you go on to the next lesson.

5.       Learning lessons does not end.

There is no part of life that does not contain a lesson. If you are alive there are lessons to be learned.

6.        ‘There’ is no better than ‘here’

When you ‘there; has become ‘here’ – you will simply obtain another ‘there’ that will again look better than your ‘here’.

7.        Others are merely mirrors of you.

You cannot love or hate something about another person unless it reflects to you something you love/hate about yourself.

8.        What you make of your life is up to you.

You have all the tools and resources you need. What you do with them is up to you. The choice is yours.

9.         Your answers lie inside of you.

All you need do is look, listen and trust!

Thank you to whoever originally sent this to me and apologies that I have no longer go the email to thank you personally!

How would your life look if you chose to remember even one of these nine rules?

What opportunities would you grab?

How could you tell yourself next time a lesson popped up for you?

In what ways could you be kind to yourself whilst remembering one of these lessons?
Next week 8th – 13th Nov is World Kindness Week. Who could you share this with to help them see life in a different way?

***

… and finally…

I ventured out the other day as I just had to be in nature – want to see what happened?

Click here for autumnal inspiration

With gratitude and kindest regards

Jules

xx

Enjoy even more free inspiration here –

http://www.positive-belief.co.uk/birthday.html

And if you would like to go on Jules next workshop and increase your confidence, then it is only a few weeks away on December 4th 2010. Click Here for further details and to book.

Cheers

Rich

Leave a comment